GA is a PreK-12, coed, nonsectarian day school in Fort Washington, PA

What makes us unique?

Find out here »

Honorable in Deed

Six Germantown Academy seniors have been named finalists in the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These six GA finalists are Sook-Hee Evans ’17, Gavin Rees ’17, Noelle Mlynarczyk ’17, Braden Cody ’17, Daniel Smith ’17, and Theodore Wood ’17.

“We’re incredibly proud of our National Merit finalists and how much they have each contributed to the academic life of Germantown Academy,” said Head of Upper School Chris Nelson. “From the Harkness Table to the Beard Center for Innovation, these students have lived the mission, constantly demonstrating an independence in thought and a spirit of inquiry that sets a terrific model for all of us.”

Evans, Reese, Mlynarczyk, Cody, Smith, and Wood are among the 16,000 semifinalists that met all the requirements to advance to the finalist standing. The selection of some 7,500 Merit Scholarship winners from the group of more than 15,000 finalists is now in progress and scholarship winners will be notified in March.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

  • germantown academy national merit finalists 2017.jpg